Suzumura Kenichi, you sly songster.

(Disclaimer: It’s not that I didn’t know Suzumura Kenichi sings. It’s just that I didn’t know how.)

Most of us who follow Animeverse are aware that seiyuus (voice actors) have multiple jobs to complement what they primarily do. This includes hosting, being their own radio talkshow host, attending anime show events, singing, etc. So even if they do have a talent management agency representing them, the work they do doesn’t feel any different from that of a freelancer or YouTuber.

(On a completely irrelevant note, if they’re doing so many things to make a living with their voices, I wonder if the income one gets from pure seiyuu work isn’t all that great.)

If I had it my way, seiyuus shouldn’t get into the music business, unless you are exceptionally good. I mean, I love the likes of Kaji Yuki, Daisuke Ono, Kamiya Hiroshi, and Hanazawa Kana, but I will never buy their albums – not even their character CDs.

Only a small handful have made it in my book – and by small, I mean only three: Hayashibara Megumi, Miyano Mamoru, and Sakamoto Maaya.

But now I think there’s a fourth.

2634-6

Suzumura Kenichi is a veteran in the industry, with shows like D.Gray-man, Ouran High School Host Club and Danna ga Nani wo Itteiru no Ka Wakaranai Ken under his belt.

Anyone who’s watched that third show would have heard him sing the Ending Theme with fellow partner-in-crime Tamura Yukari for the 2nd season:

It was a very plain, unassuming, simple tune. So guess what happened when I found his videos in YouTubeVerse:

Sir, I owe you an apology. Your character voice was barely a shadow of the talent you have to make up for that simple friendly-neighbor-next-door facade. You have a very pleasant chest tone that makes it easy to follow and agree with. I hope you continue to succeed in this industry. May you and your equally talented wife pass your awesome genes to your offspring.

2 thoughts on “Suzumura Kenichi, you sly songster.

Leave a Reply

