Oyakodon keeps this restaurant alive for 250 years.

Happy New Year everyone! 新年明けましておめでとうございます!今年も宜しくお願い致します。

I love oyakodon (chicken and egg rice bowl). It was the first Japanese dish I learned to cook, and still one of my favorites.

To be honest when I saw the title of this video that I chanced upon, I did not think that oyakodon had the power to keep a restaurant’s business alive for 250 years.

What impressed me more was the love story of a couple who chanced upon the massive lines outside the store and serendipitously decided to get in line for their first date, getting to know each other for four hours before they were finally seated.

15 years later, this couple is married with three kids and are still long-time customers of Tamahide. I’d love to visit that place someday. And even more, I wonder how many of us can have that a kind of romantic start to a relationship.

Leave a Reply

